- Backup everything that should be backed up. This may include KBs, software code, database files, etc, depending on what is to be updated. See Backup a Set Up Knowledgebase Backups.
- Obtain new licenses for the new release, if it is a major upgrade with a new main version number. See Licensing.
- Run the Setup Assistant to replace installed software and/or data that should be updated. See Setup Assistant.
- Roll back to pre-update state if something goes wrong. See Rolling Back.
These options are also available using the ewupdate utility. Default options can be changed using the command-line options listed, which correspond to the options presented in web GUI mode. The list below consists of the most commonly and recommended options.
Corresponding ewupdate command-line option
Backup database data using OS-level backup
This command only applies if the built-in MySQL server is used. Under normal circumstances a full OS-level backup is made. Use this option to skip the default OS-level backup of the MySQL directory. No database restoration will be possible if the upgrade fails.
Skip checkers unless any patchers were run
When the application server starts it performs data checks for consistency; data checking may take a long time. Use this option to skip data checking if no data was changed on update. This may speed the application server starting.
Skip project backup if possible
At the very beginning of the update process all existing projects are saved to the backup directory. If this option is set then no project backup is performed, if allowed. Project backup is required in some update modes.
Don't delete temporary files after update
Upon update, temporary files are normally stored on the hard drive. These may include data backups, unpacked new code, etc. By default, temporary files are removed after an update. If this option is set then temporary files are left on the device and will only be deleted before the next update.
Don't backup temporary files - logs etc
If this option is set then no temporary files such as log files are backed up before the update. This saves used disk space and shortens elapsed time.
For additional update options, use the –help command to print a list of commands.