Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Using the Setup Assistant

Once  Agiloft is installed, the Setup Assistant can be accessed at any time. To access this menu, open the Setup.exe or Setup.sh file located in your  Agiloft installation directory. A browser window will open and display the main menu. 

Status

The Status window tells you whether Agiloft is currently running, and the landing pages to access it. 

Settings

The Settings window allows you to manage the amount of ram allocated for the database and application servers. In addition, you can add configuration options for the database and Jboss, and select the database connection type. To see a list of the available JBoss configuration options, click More...

Web Server

Web server settings are defined during initial installation, but can be changed later in the Web server section of the Setup menu. You may change all parameters related to external web server integration, as well as those for the built-in Apache Tomcat server. The input fields are described in more detail in the Database Server section of  Agiloft Setup. 

Service Control

The Service Control menu contains the settings for  Agiloft services. These include:

  • How the system should handle stop and restarting the database or JBoss server, and which service should be affected when a start/stop/restart happens
  • Memory dumps
  • Broadcast messages
  • Start/stop timeouts
  • Duration of inactivity value for the broadcast message during the outage
  • How to monitor the services

Software Update

For more information on updating to a newer version of  Agiloft, see Upgrade Guide

Backup

The Backup window allows you to store all  Agiloft projects in platform-independent format in a default or chosen directory. These files may be stored as backups, moved to another computer for restoring, etc.  Agiloft services are unavailable during the backup process, which may be lengthy depending on the amount of data. For more information, see Set Up Knowledgebase Backups.

To create a backup...

  1. Click Backup in the Setup Assistant.
  2. Select a folder path - either the default, or a custom folder.
  3. Click Perform backup.

Restore

The Restore window restores all projects stored in  Agiloft format from a default or chosen directory. If the user selects "Purge the database before KnowledgeBases are loaded", all existing projects are deleted before restoration runs. In this case, the admin console KB stored in the file admin.xml.ew should be present in the backup directory. If no database cleaning is performed before restoration, then to avoid overwriting the active admin console KB, admin.xml.ew should not be in the directory.

Product Reset

Database resetting performs a low-level erase of the entire  Agiloft database and returns the database to a new-install state. For obvious reasons, this option should be used with extreme caution. 

Snapshots

A snapshot in  Agiloft is a set of files for restoring  Agiloft to some previous state of your knowledgebase. A snapshot consists of three parts:

  1. Installer file.
  2. Stored project files.
  3. Agiloft configuration file.

If snapshot storing is enabled, project backups and configuration files from the ‘old’ installation are stored at the beginning of an update. The installer file from the ‘new’ installation is stored at the end of the update. Snapshot names contain the date the update was performed and part of the installer name. The number of snapshots to track is set by the user, but 1-3 snapshots are usually enough.

 

Maximum number of snapshots: The default value for the maximum number of tracked snapshots is 0 - snapshots are not enabled.  To enable snapshots, enter a non-zero value and click Change. If the user enters a number that is less than the number of already existing snapshots, the oldest snapshots are removed.

Delete snapshot: Snapshots can be deleted from the hard disk by selecting the radio button in the Delete column and then pressing the Delete snapshot button.

Restore from snapshot: Restoring from a snapshot installs  Agiloft in a special mode and restores projects from stored data. To restore  Agiloft from a snapshot, the user must select the Restore column radio button for the selected snapshot, then click Restore from snapshot.

This operation cannot be undone; the current Agiloft state - code, data, and configuration - will be overwritten.

Mail Settings

The Mail settings Setup page allows the user to configure the most common mail system properties.  Agiloft processes both inbound and outbound mail. You can disable one or both of these processes by clearing the corresponding check box. For instance, it is typically necessary to turn off email processing before importing a knowledgebase onto a new server. 

Disabling email processes is also useful for debugging. The option 'Add a prefix to the subject of all sent mail' can be used for debugging, or to label all emails sent from the server as belonging to a test server.

To disable outgoing or incoming email message processing...

  1. Navigate to the Mail Settings page of the Setup utility.
  2. To turn off outbound email, deselect the checkbox next to 'Enable automatic mail sending.'
  3. To turn off inbound email processing, deselect the checkbox next to 'Enable automatic processing of incoming mail.'

When inbound or outbound mail processing is disabled, messages still waiting to be processed are stored in queues. When mail processing is re-enabled, these messages will be sent or delivered. In order to prevent this, clear the outbound or inbound mail queue before re-enabling email processing.

To clear email queues for the whole server...

  1. From the Mail settings page, use the following buttons:
    1. Clear outgoing mail messages queue – this clears any outbound emails stored in the system but not sent.
    2. Clear incoming mail message queue – this clear any inbound emails received but not yet processed by the system.

Uninstall

To uninstall  Agiloft, the user must run the uninstall utility from the  Agiloft installation directory. There are two ways to do this.

  • Run uninstall manually. For Linux users, the uninstall utility accepts the same command line arguments as the installer: no arguments to run it in GUI mode, -c option to run in console mode and –q option to run in unattended mode, with no prompts or confirmation messages, using all default options.

Or

  • Run Setup, then choose Uninstall from the main menu.

After confirming that you really want to uninstall the software, the uninstaller removes the current instance of  Agiloft. Backups will be saved in the the $AL_DIR/data/backups directory, so you can restore or re-import them later.