Agiloft. For example, groups define which records a user may view, edit or delete and which fields within the record the user may view or edit.Group membership defines the access permissions each user has within
Users can belong to many groups and enjoy the combined permissions of all the groups that they belong to.
Every knowledgebase comes with several predefined groups. You can modify or delete them as needed and create an unlimited number of new groups.
Groups are designated as either End User or Power User, often called a staff user. The type of group determines which license type is required. End User groups cannot access the Power User Interface or edit records created by other users. By placing users who only need to create, or submit, records and use the FAQ in an End User group, you limit their access and reduce licensing costs. Power Users use an individual named or floating license and can access either interface and can perform all functions permitted to them.
Group permissions control access to:
- saved searches;
- tables and records;
- views and reports.
You can modify the permissions for each group in the Group Permissions wizard.
Configuring permissions for a new group can be time consuming, due to the fine level of access control offered by Agiloft. To simplify this process, copy an existing group with permissions similar to those you need for the new group, and then modify the copy to suit the new requirements. Groups are only used for access permissions. If users share a common function and need to be notified or assigned to issues collectively, they are placed in the same Teams.
Printing Group Permissions to Get an Overview
You may wish to print the group's permissions either hard copy or to a file to get a sense of what tables are active for each group. This allows you to quickly scan the existing settings for each table, and saves you the trouble of going through the wizard one screen at a time. When done customizing you can store these files as a reference of what permissions have been set up.
In Setup > Access > Manage Groups, mouse over the printer icon: